First blog post

Hi! This is my very first blog post here and after spending most of the day fiddling with wordpress templates, trying to figure all this mess out, I am very happy to be here.

I have always been a creative, artistic type of person. I always liked writing fiction, drawing, and sewing, and two years ago I started dabbling in photography. But a few months ago I tried acrylic painting for the first time, thanks to my sister who requested a large simple scene to hang over her new sofa. I discovered how much I adore this medium. The brush strokes feel natural to me, the quick drying paint is just at my pace, and the results are so satisfying! My friends and family tell me that I have a natural talent for it.

So for Christmas, my loving husband went straight out and got me some paint, brushes, and three canvases to play with. I posted a quick photo of the first of those paintings, “Boat on a lake” on my personal facebook page and was overwhelmed with positive feedback!

I realized then that many of my friends and family never get to see what I’m working on (even though I am always working on something!). I’ve always been somewhat private and self-conscious, and maybe overly critical of my own work. So that is why I decided to start this blog. To organize my creative outlets and allow anyone interested to see what I’m up to and get to know me a bit better.

So please browse around and let me know what you think, the more feedback the better!

Leave a Reply

